Spout SDK for noobs

Home Forums Spout Developer Spout SDK for noobs

This topic contains 9 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  leadedge 1 week ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

laurin_d
    Participant

Hey hey. I did a symple code using Processing to resive i spout texture but it was to slow. So i need to do it in c or c++. I am quite new in coding c and i am not able to get the exampl patch running in visual studio or bloodshed def. I dont know how to import or build the Projekt. I know that are basics but maybe someone here can do some noob instructions to just run the examplecode to start working from that.

leadedge
    Keymaster

I think it is important to find out why the Processing sketch is so slow before tackling development with C++ if you are new to it.

The Spout texture sharing part of the Processing sketch should not be too slow. It’s possible that it is starting with Memoryshare mode which is slower than texture sharing.

When the receiving sketch starts to receive from a sender, you will see in the console window which mode is initialized. Do you see “Spout initialized memory sharing”?

If you do, the cause must be found or a C++ application will be just as slow. Usually this is caused by incorrect Optimus graphics settings for a laptop or incompatible graphics hardware.

You can also run the Spout demo sender and receiver to find out if they are slow, as well as other applications that support Spout.

If you wish to develop with C++, I suggest staying with Openframeworks and Visual Studio if you can. From what I can see, Dev-C++ by BloodshedSoftware uses a MingW based compiler and you will probably need to use SpoutLibrary instead of the source code directly. However, if you wish to stay with Dev-C++, using SpoutLibrary is not difficult and you should look at the example source code.

Otherwise I will try to give some step-by-step instructions.